The Modern &The Postmodern Periods

Thursday, May 26, 2011 - Posted by chameli at 1:57 AM
The death of Queen Victoria to the beginning of the Second World War is called the Modern Period . Form 1939 onward is called the Postmodern  Period .According to the reign of king  7th Edward ,the Modern Period includes two shorter ages .The first decade of the Modern Period is called the Edwardian  Period .The years between 1910 to 1936 of this period is called the Georgian Period according to the reign of 5th George .The poets who published their poems in four anthologies entitled Georgian Poetry  are called ''Georgian poets''.    Major Writers and their Major works:
Henry James (1843-1916)
> The Wings of the Dove (1902)
> The Ambassadors (1903)
> The Golden Bowl (1904)
Joseph Conrad (1857-1924)
> Lord Jim: A Tale (1900)
> The Nigger of the Narcissus (1898)
> Under Western Eyes (1911)
> Heart of Darkness (1902)
> Nostromo(1904)
George Robert Gissing (1857-1903)
>The Nether World (1889)
>The Whirlpool (1897)
> Born in Exile (1892)
Rudyard Kipling (1865-1936)
>Plain Tales from the Hills (1888)
>Puck of Pook's Hill(1906)
>Limits and Renewals (1932)
George Bernard Show (1856-1950)
>The Philanderer(1905)
>Arms and the Man (1894)
>Man and Superman (1905)
>Pygmalion (1913)
>Heartbreak House (1921)
>St.Joan (1924)
John Millington Synge (1871-1909)
>The Shadow of the Glen (1903)
>Riders to the Sea (1904)
>The Well of the Saints (1905)
>The Playboy of the Western World (1907)
>The Tinker's Wedding (1907)
Oscar Wilde (1856-1900)
>Lady Windermere;s Fan (1892)
>A Woman of No Importance (1893)
>An Ideal Husband (1895)
>The Importance of Being Earnest (1895)
William Butler Yeats (1865-1939)
>The Wild Swans at Coole (1919)
>The Tower (1928)
The Winding Stair and Other Poems (1933)
>The Resurrection (1913)
>The Cat and the Moon (1926)
John Masefield (1878-1967)
>Midsummer Night (1928)
>Collected Poems (1932)
>End Beginning (1932)
>Wonderings (1943)